Planning Your Research
Efficient research starts with a plan, similar to a road map for your research. Complete this worksheet to plan the steps of your research for your speech.
Useful Websites
NCC librarians have selected the websites below as good sources for information on speech topics.
Chat with a Librarian
Reference Sources for Speech 100
- Online Reference Sources Check here for subject encyclopedias, statistical guides, dictionaries and other online reference sources.
- Print Reference Sources This list includes a variety of print reference sources (subject encyclopedias, biographical sources, literary criticism, statistical guides and more) and their call numbers, in addition to links to certain online sources.
Finding Articles for a Speech
Here are the most common databases that you will use to find articles for your speech. You may also want to use a subject-specific database if you need more in-depth information on your topic.
- Academic Search Premier
- Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
- Chicago Tribune (1986 - present)
- JSTOR Full-text of scholarly journals covering most academic subjects
- Lexis-Nexis Global news in full-text, company information, business and industry news, legal sources, and more
- New York Times (1851 - 2005)
- Project Muse 300+ humanities, arts, and social sciences journals in full-text
- Subject Specific Databases Pick the broad subject area you are researching to locate relevant databases.
Rosemary Henders |
Rosemary HendersDescription
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait