Chat with a Librarian
History Journals
Follow the link below to see a list of journals, magazines, newspapers and other periodicals at Oesterle Library on the topic of history.
History Databases
The following library databases contain articles and other content on history and related topics.
- America: History and Life Citations and abstracts in American and Canadian history and culture
- American National Biography Online Biographies of 17,000+ deceased Americans
- Black Thought and Culture 100,000 pages of books, articles, essays, speeches and other texts written by African-Americans
- CARLI Digital Collections Collections of tens of thousands of digitized images, historical documents and more from Illinois academic libraries
- Chicago Tribune (Historical) Full-text archive of the newspaper, 1849-1986
- HarpWeek (historical Harper's Weekly Magazine) Harper's Weekly magazine, 1857-1912, covering general topics during the Civil War, Progressive Era and Gilded Age
- Historical Statistics of the United States Historical statistics on population, labor, economics, and government
- Illinois Sanborn Insurance Maps Highly detailed historical maps of cities in Illinois
- Iter Citations for publications related to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- JSTOR Full-text of scholarly journals covering most academic subjects
- Military & Government Collection Citations and some full-text of journals, pamphlets, and other publications covering the military and related topics
- New York Times (Historical) Full-text archive of the newspaper, 1851-2005, including PDF page images of all issues
- North Central Chronicle Full-text archive of the college's newspaper, 1873-May 2008, including PDF page images of all issues
- Women and Social Movements American women's history, 1600-2000; includes primary source materials (pamphlets, photos, audio recordings, etc)
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- ArticleFirst
- Chicago Tribune (1986 - present)
- Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- CQ Researcher
- Encyclopedia Britannica
- JSTOR
- New York Times (1851 - 2005)
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Project Muse
- ProQuest Newspapers Full-text of major national newspapers including the New York Times, USA Today and Chicago Tribune among others.
- WilsonSelectPlus
Belinda Cheek |
Belinda CheekDescription
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait