Chat with a Librarian
Lexis-Nexis: Legal
Click the Legal tab in Lexis-Nexis to begin searching for primary and secondary legal resources.
Primary and Secondary Sources
View the pdf file below for more information about primary and secondary sources in legal research.
Book Search
Click any of the search phrases below to conduct a search in CardinalCat, the library's catalog of books.
General Business Law Resources
- Black's Law Dictionary Call number: R 340.03 B56g 2004
Standard source for definitions of legal terms. - Merriam-Webster Dictionary of Law Online edition of law dictionary
- Martindale-Hubbell Law Digest Call Number: R. 340.025 M36md
Arranged by state and subject/area of law, with summaries of laws and citations to relevant code. Also includes US patent, copyright, and trademark law - Martindale-Hubbell International Law Digest Call Number: R. 340.025 M36mid
Same as above, but for international law. - Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory Call number: R. 340.025 M36m
Virtually every attorney and law firm in the US' - contact info, degrees, areas of specialty, publications indexed by name, entries by firm/practice. - Martindale-Hubbell International Law Directory Call number: R. 340.025 M36mi
Same as above on international level. - Legal Information Institute Cornell University's extremely useful guide to law and legal resources. Browse the site to find brief articles on legal topics and areas of law, alongside links to the relevant statutes, regulations and court decisions.
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law Call Number: R. 348.7303 W52
Twelve-volume encyclopedia of law. Gives references to specific landmark cases. Organized by subject. With bibliographies, citations, index, index of citations. - American Law Yearbook Call number: R. 348.7303 W52a
Annually-updated supplements to West's Encyclopedia of American Law. - The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation Call number: R. 349.730148 B62c 2000
Guide to citing legal sources. - Guide to Law Online Law Library of Congress's guide to reliable legal information freely available on the internet.
- FindLaw Extremely thorough index providing links to legal resources on the web.
- Washlaw: Legal Information Online Extensive index providing links to legal resources on the web. From Washington University.
- ABA Journal Link to library holdings of ABA Journal.
- American Journal of Legal History Link to library holdings of the American Journal of Legal History.
Aimee Walker |
Aimee WalkerOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
(630) 637-5708
aawalker@noctrl.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Division of Economics and Business
![]() |
Contact Info:
(630) 637-5708
aawalker@noctrl.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Division of Economics and Business
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait