Chat with a Librarian
Environmental Change Books/Videos
- An inconvenient truth - Gore, Al
Call Number: VIDEO 363.73874 In2p
An inconvenient truth: the planetary emergency of global warming and what we can do about it - Gore, Al
Call Number: 363.73874 G66i
Published to tie in to a documentary film of the same name cited below, "An Inconvenient Truth" is Gore's battle cry about what needs to be done about global warming.- Fooling with nature
Call Number: VIDEO 363.7384 F73p
This program examines new evidence in the controversy over the danger of manmade chemicals to human health and the environment, 35 years after Rachel Carson first raised concerns of an impending ecological crisis. This program takes viewers inside the world of scientists, politicians, activists, and business officials embroiled in this high-stakes debate. - Heat: a global investigation
Call Number: VIDEO 333.7915 H35f
Facing pressure from governments, green groups and investors alike, big business is promising to reshape it’s approach to the environment. Martin Smith travels the globe to test what big business is really doing to solve this urgent issue. - Rachel Carson’s Silent spring
Call Number: VIDEO 363.7384 R11p
Focuses on Rachel Carson’s book: Silent spring. Focusing on the chemical poisoning of the environment. This is the story of how one scientist’s courage changed the way we think about our world.
Annual International Programs Focus
For the 2009-2010 academic year, the North Central College Office of International Programs is mounting a campus-wide focus, "Global Environmental Change: North America," that features specially designated courses, co-curricular events, and a Fulbright Scholar-in-Residence. Students, faculty, staff, and community members are invited to participate; all public events are free of charge. For further details on events and courses, please visit the Annual International Focus page.
These resource lists are prepared in support of this focus, with a special emphasis on water.
Annual International Focus Events
- Thu, Nov 05th, 2009: Waterbuster and J. Carlos Peinado
Waterbuster is a documentary chronicling the dislocation and relocation of the Mandan-Hidatsa-Arikara Nation of North Dakota due to a dam that inundated their homeland along the banks of the Missouri River. It is also the personal story...
Environmental Studies Databases
The following library databases contain articles and other content on environmental studies and related topics.
- GreenFILE An interdisciplinary research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with popular and scholarly information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
- AccessScience Full-text of McGraw-Hill Enyclopedia of Science
- ScienceDirect Full-text and citations in biological and medical sciences, business and economics; select "Subscribed journals" next to "Source" for library subscriptions
- Wiley Interscience Science and medicine journals in full-text
- Academic Search Premier 4,500+ full-text publications covering most academic subjects
Environmental Studies Reference Sources
- The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology Call Number: R. 577 En1n
- Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy
- Environmental Law Handbook Call Number: R. 344.046 En8s 2001
- Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement Call Number: R. 333.72 Sch7h 2 ed
Oesterle Librarians
Environmental Studies Journals
Follow the link below to see a list of journals, magazines, newspapers and other periodicals at Oesterle Library on the topic of speech communication.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait