Chat with a Librarian
History Journals
Follow the link below to see a list of journals, magazines, newspapers and other periodicals at Oesterle Library on the topic of history.
Comments (0)
Browse for Specific Journal Titles
Use the link below to search to see whether or not Oesterle Library has access to a specific journal.
History Databases
The following library databases contain articles and other content on history and related topics.
- America: History and Life with Full TextCitations and abstracts in American and Canadian history and culture
- American National Biography OnlineBiographies of 17,000+ deceased Americans
- Black Thought and Culture100,000 pages of books, articles, essays, speeches and other texts written by African-Americans
- CARLI Digital CollectionsCollections of tens of thousands of digitized images, historical documents and more from Illinois academic libraries
- Chicago Tribune (Historical)Full-text archive of the newspaper, 1849-1986
- HarpWeek (historical Harper's Weekly Magazine)Harper's Weekly magazine, 1857-1912, covering general topics during the Civil War, Progressive Era and Gilded Age
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesHistorical statistics on population, labor, economics, and government
- Illinois Sanborn Insurance MapsHighly detailed historical maps of cities in Illinois
- IterCitations for publications related to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- JSTORFull-text of scholarly journals covering most academic subjects
- London Times (1785-1985)Full-text access to the London Times covering major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War.
- Military & Government CollectionCitations and some full-text of journals, pamphlets, and other publications covering the military and related topics
- New York Times (Historical)Full-text archive of the newspaper, 1851-2006, including PDF page images of all issues
- Newspaper ArchiveLarge online newspaper archive featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world.
- Newspaper SourceFull-text of nearly 300 national and regional newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts
- North Central ChronicleFull-text archive of the college's newspaper, 1873-May 2008, including PDF page images of all issues
- Women and Social MovementsAmerican women's history, 1600-2000; includes primary source materials (pamphlets, photos, audio recordings, etc)
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier4,500+ full-text publications covering most academic subjects
- ArticleFirstCitations and abstracts covering most academic subjects; limited full-text
- Chicago Tribune (Current)Full-text of current issues of the newspaper, 1986-present
- Chicago Tribune (Historical)Full-text archive of the newspaper, 1849-1986
- Chronicle of Higher EducationHigher education news, features and commentary in full-text
- CQ ResearcherFull-text of publication covering controversial contemporary issues in depth
- Encyclopedia BritannicaFull-text of the general encyclopedia
- JSTORFull-text of scholarly journals covering most academic subjects
- London Times (1785-1985)Full-text access to the London Times covering major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War.
- New York Times (Historical)Full-text archive of the newspaper, 1851-2006, including PDF page images of all issues
- Oxford English DictionaryFull-text of the etymological dictionary, with new entries added regularly
- Project Muse300+ humanities, arts, and social sciences journals in full-text
- ProQuest NewspapersFull-text of major national newspapers including the New York Times, USA Today and Chicago Tribune among others.
- Wilson OmniFile SelectFull-text coverage of most academic subjects
Belinda Cheek |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
